Snowboarding

The day my life changed…

It’s not very often you can pin point the exact moment your life has changed, often it’s a slow process and you look back and wonder where the time has gone and ultimately how on earth have you got there.

Sitting here in Canada (albeit just on holiday this time) I can honestly say I wouldn’t be where I am today nor would have achieved anything I have done if I was not asked such a simple question 8 years ago.

“Would you like to learn to ski or snowboard?”

Now all this time later, I’m sitting in my thermals and ski socks watching the Super bowl and eating chicken wings whilst writing this….oh yeah I did snowboard today too.

I guess it’s hard to realise how a hobby or sport could dramatically change your life but 8 years, 7 snowboard holidays, 2 winter seasons abroad, 2 chipped teeth and plenty of bruises and beers later, I can honestly say that all important question changed my life for the betterΒ and continues to do so.

It’s opened up doors, careers, opportunities, friends and my eyes to the adventures that can be had when you just let life flow. I’ve experienced things I never thought I would and all because I answered “Skiing’s lame but I’ll give snowboarding a go”…..

Leave a Reply

